Flank Steak Salad w/ Olive Oil Poached Tomatoes.

This recipe is one I made up in my attempt to enjoy salad (really! I’m not a rabbit!) Now it’s one of my favorite things to make and I just love it! I put it on my catering menu and I have now taught this recipe in my cooking classes to many students and everyone has enjoyed it so much. So, I’ve broken down and decided to share the yummy goodness with all!

What you need:

  • Arugula (roquette)
  • Baby Greens and/or spinach
  • 1 Lemon Juiced
  • Olive Oil
  • Cherry Tomatoes
  • Avocado
  • Soy Nuts
  • Flank Steak
  • 1 Lime Juiced
  • Garlic
  • S & P to taste
  • Red Onion
  • Croutons
  • Cilantro (ripped or roughly chopped)
  • Parmesan Cheese
  • Any other salad ingredients you might enjoy

What to do:

  1. On a platter combine 2 cloves of crushed garlic, cilantro, and lime juice, mix well
  2. Place Flank Steak on platter and let marinade for approx. 10 min, then flip to other side.
  3. While Flank Steak is marinading, fill a small sauce pan with your cherry tomatoes.
  4. Pour in enough olive oil to just cover the tomatoes (sometimes I like to throw in a bit of fresh garlic as well!)
  5. Place on med/low heat. You want the Tomatoes to POACH not boil.
  6. Your Tomatoes are ready when they skins just start to crack and you see bubbles coming up from the top of the pan (usually about 10-15 min.)
  7. Drain the tomatoes and place in the fridge Save the olive oil for later.
  8. place a skillet on the stove at a high heat and add olive oil, approx. 1 1/2 tablespoons.
  9. Once the pan is screaming hot (olive oil just starts to smoke) Place your steak in to sear.
  10. After approx. 1-2 min flip the steak on the other side
  11. For Med. Rare (depending on size and thickness) Cook your steak approx. 6-8 min on each side after searing and reducing the heat slightly.
  12. Once your steak is finished allow it to sit for at least 10 min and rest, This will allow the steak juices to re-distribute and your steak will be juicy and yummy!
  13. While your steak is resting, assemble your salad with any “fixins” you want. (Don’t forget your tomatoes in the fridge!)
  14. In a small bowl combine your lemon juice and approx. 1/4 cup of the reserved tomato olive oil Add Salt and Pepper to taste and which until emulsified. Be sure to taste and add more oil if it’s too tart or lemon(y) for you, or if it’s too oily add more lemon juice.
  15. Once your steak is done resting, slice on the bias AGAINST the grain of the steak. This is Key for tender flank steak.
  16. Place the steak on your salad and then drizzle your dressing over top.
  17. Add Parmesan and EAT!

Let me know if you try this recipe and what you think, I was kind of winging the measurements so let me know if I’m off on anything 🙂 Enjoy!!

Chip and Jody enjoyed a special cooking class making this salad:

 

Leave a comment